## COASTAL PLAINS SWCD FY '22 Conservation Award Winners

In July, the Coastal Plains Soil & Water Conservation District honored its Conservation Award Winners for 2022 with a steak dinner at the Lone Star Saloon in Richmond, TX, and presented each one with a large personalized sign to be show cased at their place of operation. Every year, the Texas State Soil & Water Conservation Board (TSSWCB) together with the Association of Texas Soil & Water Conservation Districts (ATSWCD), sponsor the "Texas Conservation Awards Program" of which the 216 conservation districts across the state of Texas participate in. Each district chooses local winners for the various categories, and then present those winners to TSSWCB & ATSWCD to be judged for the five areas of Texas as "Area Winners". From the chosen area winners, a "State Winner" is then selected for each category. Each district will present and sponsor their local winners with awards and a banquet or dinner in their district. TSSWCB & ATSWCD will honor each area winner with a plaque and the state winners are honored at the Annual State Meeting, which is held in October at a chosen location.

Coastal Plains SWCD is proud to present its 2022 local district conservation winners:

In the first photo shown left to right are-Ben Bono-Chairman, Kenny Poehls-2022 Conservation Farmer, Blase Tucker-2022 Conservation Rancher, Dale Franz-Secretary, & Linda Freund-District Secretary. Not pictured are board directors-Matt Gubbels & Wyatt Bosse.



In the second photo is Dakota Freund-2022 Friend of Conservation & wife, Brittney Freund who weren't able to attend the awards dinner.

